One of the biggest things about Kind of Blue is the sheer communicative power of tone. Through death and through fifty years, Miles is still so alive, so vibrant in his tone, reaching forward from the years and pulling me back with him. To ’59, to New York, to the 30th Street Studio, and offering up so much of himself.- In that hour or so, he’s giving us the composition of his soul, unbridled. It’s so beautifully cool. So romantic. There’s so much, for me that goes along with hearing this record again. So much imagery, so much of New York in that record. It’s everything that I want to be in and a part of most of the time. It’s a time machine of a record, more so than anything I’ve ever heard, one that moves to render an era that I’ve never actually seen. It doesn’t matter, as far as I’m concerned, I was there. I don’t think he knew it, but its almost a religious experience. It’s beyond modal jazz, beyond Bebop, it’s pure unadultered soul; coming from a man who for an hour and a half, was God for just a little while, giving us a record that gave the world something it didn’t know how badly it needed. Maybe was the world, to a certain degree. Or maybe a heaven, to which we (or at the very least, I) are undoubtedly paying periodic visits..

~ by crossmd on March 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
