Earlier this evening, I sat with my friend for a long time- her studying quietly over the cable that was on. We didn’t really speak often, I to comment on occasion about superficial observations, like the incessant frequency of commercial breaks, her to muse at the suspension of physics that continually bothered her in certain fight scenes.

The movie that was on was Kill Bill, and I thought it a very odd movie really to watch with anyone, much less a girl. As I sat and thought about this, I was struck by an equally odd comfort. I realized therein, that this is how a friendship should be- maybe split equally in attention between geriatrics, Byzantine relics, and Quentin Tarantino. It was said a decade earlier in another of his films that a certain closeness is achieved in being able to sit in silence with someone and have it not be situationally awkward. I would like to take this one step further. I believe that everyone needs someone they can experience a profound sense of comfort with as they literally watch 40 Asian men being killed on television.

I’m extraordinarily lucky to have someone like her.

~ by crossmd on October 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
